Beach Shacks BlairgowrieSearching for a home sucks.  I almost put blind faith in the Universe yesterday, but my gut told me not to.  I’ve spent countless hours trawling websites for share accommodation to try and find somewhere decent to live.   I’ve discarded ads that use words like ‘unreal’ to describe their abode, or describe themselves as ‘chillin’ kind of people and greet potential housemates via an all inclusive ‘hello people’.  Petty, I know, but it feels wrong in my gut.  But as the weeks have dragged by and I’m still empty handed I’ve progressively lowered my champagne tastes to align with my beer wages in an attempt to find something quickly.  This very fact nearly landed me in hot water yesterday.

One website brings flat’ees and flat’ers together in perfect harmony and regularly emails suggested matches to either party.  So it wasn’t unusual to receive an offer of a place on the city fringe via direct email last week.  A bit of too-ing and fro-ing later and I couldn’t believe my luck to be on the verge of securing such a tastefully furnished place in a great location going so cheap.  To cut a long story short, I was getting even more suspicious as quite a few additional and important questions I had were being skirted around.  So before I threw caution to the wind and took a gamble on blind faith I decided to google this charming young chap’s name, he did send me a scan of his passport in good faith after all.  Imagine my surprise when it came up on a long list of internationally renowned rental scammers.  And so Mr Jeffrey Pride Caulum, I flip you the bird and continue my search with new eyes wide open!

From now on I am always listening to my gut.  Oooh, now it’s rumbling, must dash.

