Finished product from Zaishu's India Project

Finished product from Zaishu's India Project

I’ve loved Zaishu for a few years now. It’s a sustainable, socially responsive yet simple way of connecting people to each other via unique art and design.   The people might be those in need or those with skills to offer.  Sounds utopic, but it works. And continues to work. 

There seems to be no end to the global reach of originator Matt Butler’s simple concept.  Born from a desire to to create an open- ended, evolving art project with participation, creativity and social / environmental responsibility as its central themes the largely organic projects seem to get more amazing as time goes by. 

schoolkids with their finished Zaishu

schoolkids with their finished Zaishu

One of my favourite projects involved the work of Bollywood artists as well as religious, tribal, sign-writing artists and schoolchildren.  Way back in 2006 Matt travelled to Mumbai and set up a studio where he spent a month discovering and working with artists trained in traditions that are being lost due to India’s rapid modernisation.  Proceeds from the sale of Zaishu India Project assist in providing income for the artists as well as clothing, housing, education and medical care for the children of Samparc, many of whom have no family.

 I would love to be involved in a project one day, lord knows I’ve tried in the past!  There seems to be a huge waitlist of cool stuff on their books though. Originally I had thought some of my artwork or craftie skills could be involved but given the direction I’m heading these days I would stand a better chance of taking photos of their next biggest thing.   Hey Matt, call me!!

Be sure to check out Zaishu online to learn about their next exciting collaborative project and to find your own favourite to fall in love with – I dare ya!

